Giuseppe "Beppe" Bergomi (born 22 December 1963) is an Italian retired footballer who was capable of playing anywhere along the backline (although he was primarily a right-back) and was an esteemed member of the 1982 Italian World-Cup winning side. Bergomi was affectionately referred to as "Lo zio" ("the uncle") because of his bushy eyebrows and the impressive moustache he wore even as a youngster and is widely regarded as one of the most versatile, intelligent and toughest Italian defenders of all time.

A one-club man, Bergomi held the record of most appearances for Interzionale for several years, while also being the side's longtime captain. The 20 Serie A campaigns in which he competed were often in the shadow of A.C. Milan, as he only won the Scudetto once, during a record-breaking campaign in 1988–89 (he did, however, conquer the UEFA Cup on three occasions, also reaching the final for a fourth time in 1997).

A precocious talent in his youth, Bergomi shot to superstardom as a teenager with the national team. Making his debut on 14 April 1982, aged only 18 years and 3 months, he was the youngest player to feature in a match for Italy post-World War II. A few months later, Bergomi won the 1982 FIFA World Cup, and went on to play in the 1986 and as well as UEFA Euro 1988, where the nation reached the semi-finals and he was elected part of the team of the tournament. Bergomi captained his country in the World Cup 1990 tournament – held on home soil – to a third-place finish, playing in all seven matches which included five consecutive wins and as many clean sheets, for a total of 518 minutes without conceding a goal and the best defensive record overall.

After a long international hiatus, Bergomi was surprisingly selected for the 1998 World Cup at age 34. When Alessandro Nesta suffered a tournament-ending injury he partnered for the rest of the tournament with Fabio Cannavaro, Alessandro Costacurta and Maldini, playing three games and leading Italy to a quarter-final finish, where they would be eliminated by hosts and eventual champions France, on penalties.